Sproul on God’s Character

“The two books that I have written that have received the most response are The Holiness of God and Chosen by God. Many people have said to me: ‘You know, your book The Holiness of God just blew me away. It gave me an exalted view of the majesty of God. Then I read Chosen by God, but I didn’t like that one at all.’ When I get those comments, I usually say: ‘Either you didn’t understand The Holiness of God or you didn’t understand Chosen by God. The God who is holy is the God who is sovereign. The God who is transcendent in His majesty is the omnipotent Lord. He brings good things and He brings bad things.’ Job understood that when he said, ‘The LORD gave, and the LORD has taken away; blessed be the name of the LORD’ (Job 1:21b). This is the God with whom we have to deal—whether we like Him or not. He is God, He alone. That is what He said to Cyrus: ‘I am the LORD.’ You might prefer a different god. You might even try to fashion one. But there is no other.”

Sproul in Holy, Holy, Holy

Leave a Reply

